Most Important Notification for CGL Exam 2016

Going to Appear for CGL Tier-1 Exam ? Read this Most Important Notification by SSC on Recent changes in SSC CGL 2016 Exam 

SSC CGL 2016 Exam Dates have been announced, and this is for the First time, that CGL will be an Online Exam, thereby bringing, more transparency in the SSC Exams. Not only the changes in the conduct of Exam, SSC had made some big changes in the Pattern and Scheme of Exam, as well.

We have already discussed all these changes in our previous post on Revised Exam Pattern for SSC CGL 2016. Meanwhile, SSC had also released the List of Applicants, who applications for the CGL Tier-1 are Rejected. To Know, whether, your Form is Accepted Or Rejected, you should check our previous post on SSC CGL 2016 Application form Status. It is worth mentioning here that Only those candidates whose forms are accepted can Download their Admit Cards.

SSC had also announced the much awaited Date for Downloading of SSC CGL Admit Cards. As per the Official Notification, the Admit cards will be available for Download from 10th of August, 2016.

Today, SSC had announced another important Notification regarding the SSC CGL Exam. Here it is Explained in Detail the Exam Pattern, Time and Dates of Online Exam, Date of Downloading Admit Cards, Mock Tests,  Marks Distribution, and General Instructions. 

Applicants are advised in their own interest to read this post till end and If having any queries, the same should be asked in the comments section.

Important SSC Notification : What’s the Big Deal ?

Schedule of SSC CGL 2016

1) SSC CGL Tier-1 Online Exams will start from 27th August, 2016 till 11th September, 2016 . For the First three Days ( ie from 27th August to 29th August), the Exams will be conducted in 2 Batches, afterwards the Exam will be conducted in 3 batches per Day.

Here is the Timing of Batches for Tier-1 Exam

The Closing time for entering the Examination hall is 30 minutes before the start of the Exam and same will be written in the Admit Card.

2) CGL Tier-2 Exams are scheduled to be held in November, 2016. The Dates and Exact schedule, will be know, only after the announcement of SSC CGL Tier-1 Results 2016.

3) Tier-3 and Tier-4 of CGL 2016 Examination is expected to be held in January, 2016 and Final Results are most likely to be announced by April, 2016.

Admit Cards for CGL Tier-1 Exam 

The Commission, will upload the Admit Cards for SSC CGL Tier-1 Exam on the SSC Regional Websites from, 10th of August, 2016. In case, you are facing difficulties in obtaining the Admit Cards, then should read our advisory post of SSC CGL Admit Card, where, we have explained in Detail the step-by-step process for downloading of Admit Cards.

It is worth mentioning here and important to note that, Admit Cards for CGL Exam, cannot be downloaded from Main SSC Website. Infact, you have to visit the Regional SSC Websites for downloading of Admit Cards. 

Example If, you belong to J&K, Punjab, HP and Harayana, then you fall under SSCNWR (North Western Region) and as such you have to download the SSCNWR Admit Cards from the SSCNWR Website (

It should be noted, that by mistake, you are issued more than One Admit card, then you should bring it in the notice of Respective, Regional SSC Office. Applicants are allowed to appear only in the One shift of Examination, In case, a candidate appears in more than One shift(s), his/her candidature is likely to be cancelled.

Detailed Scheme of SSC CGL Exam 2016

1) Both Tier-1 and Tier-2 Exams, will be held through Online mode (computer based Exam) and there is a change in the SSC CGL Syllabus for both Tier-1 and Tier-2 Exam. Syllabus, will be same, as issued in the SSC CGL Notification.

2) CGL Tier-1 Exam : CGL Tier-1 Online Exams are commencing from 27th August, and will end on 11th Sept, 2016. The Exams will he held in three different shifts every day.

  • No. of Questions in Tier-1 are reduced from 200 to 100 Questions
  • The weighate of Tier-1 is 200 marks, with each Question, carries 2 marks
  • The composite time for Tier-1 exam is 75 minutes only.
  • Negative marks for Tier-1 are also increased from to 0.25 to 0.50 for every incorrect answer.
  • Tier-1 will have four sections viz General Intelligence & Reasoning (ii) General Awareness (iii) Quantitative Aptitude (iv) English Comprehension with 25 questions from each section.
3) CGL Tier-2 Exam : Those who Qualify the Tier-1 stage can only appear for Tier-2 Exam. Applicants will have obtain the minimum cut off marks in Tier-1 exam , as fixed by the commission, to qualify for Tier-2 stage.
Tier-2 comprises of 4 Papers, out of these Only First 2 paper are compulsory for all candidates, the 3rd Paper is for who who apply for Statistical Investigator and 4th Paper is for those, who applied for AAO in C&AG.
1) Paper-1 of CGL Tier-2 Exam, is of Quantitative Ability. This paper will have 100 question, and weighatage of 200 marks, with each question carrying 2 marks. For every wrong answer 0.50 marks will be deducted.
2) The 2nd Paper  would be on English Language and Comprehension. Here you will have to answer, 100 Questions, carrying 200 marks. The penalty for wrong answers is 0.25 marks.
4) CGL Tier-3 Exam: Those who qualify the Tier-2 stage, can appear in the Tier-3 Exam. Only those candidates, who score higher marks in Tier-1 and Tier-2 stage (combined Merit) will appear for Tier-3 stage.
Tier-3 Exam, comprises of Descriptive Paper. Applicants have the choice to select the Language of Paper from Hindi and English. Here applicants will have to Write and Essay, Or Letter in their chosen language. 
The minimum qualifying marks for Tier-3 exam is 33% only. The standard of this paper of 10+2 level. 
Tier-3 stage is introduced for the First time in CGL-2016 . Earlier the Tier-3 comprises of Interviews
5) CGL Tier-4 Stage: This stage of Examination will test your Computer Literacy. Here you have to undergo Data Entry Skill test Or Computer Proficiency test.
 Final Merit : The Final merit for CGL Exam comprises of marks obtained in all the Three Tiers 
For the convenience of Readers, we have embedded the Official SSC Notification for CGL Exam. Applicants are advised to go through this Latest SSC CGL Notification for CGL Exam


10 thoughts on “Most Important Notification for CGL Exam 2016

  1. I dont knw my password to check my application status, bt I also colud not find my reg rejectd list.
    Plz help me to sort out this whthr I was selectd or not n vthout password hw would I attend exam iff I was selected.

  2. Sir/ Madam,
    I applied for SSC CGL 2016 but lost my Registration Number and Password.
    I'm unable to retrieve it as I could not find any mail or message regarding that.
    Kindly help me with my issue as soon as possible. Sorry for the inconvenience.

    My Details:
    Name: CH Srinikhita
    Father's Name: CH Ramu
    Mail ID:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *